How the three WoW Forever editions stack up

All three are optional. Forever itself comes with an active WoW subscription or Game Time, so you can play without buying any of them. Each tier includes everything below it: Epic has all of Heroic, and the Collection has all of Epic.

Heroic is the access tier: Skyborne, the Zephras Isle start and Early Name Reservation. Epic's real selling points are beta and Game Time. The Collection's extra value is almost entirely on the Warcraft III side.

WoW Forever edition comparison

What's in the Skyborne Heroic Pack, Skyborne Epic Pack and Warcraft Forever Collection
ContentsHeroicEpicCollection
Price (US / EU) $29.99 / €29.99 $59.99 / €59.99 $79.99 / €79.99
Skyborne race and Zephras Isle start Yes Yes Yes
Early Name Reservation (Oct 27 – Nov 3) Yes Yes Yes
Beta access (from Sept 17) No Yes Yes
30 days of Game Time (from Nov 4) No Yes Yes
Mounts Cerulean Prideclaw Cerulean Prideclaw + Veteran Adventurer's Loyal Companion (bear) Same as Epic
Transmog Shen'dorei Skyseer's Garb Adds Outdoor Wear Same as Epic
Back item and toy Veteran Adventurer's Rucksack, Shen'dorei Windwell Yes Yes
Tabards No Lordaeron and Shen'dorei Yes
Pets (Forever-only) No Zergling, Panda, Diablo, Pachimari Yes
Housing decor (modern WoW) Skyborne decor Skyborne decor Adds Forsaken and Human Figurines
Warcraft III: Reforged + Forsaken Kingdom No No Yes
Invite-A-Friend codes 1 3 3
Available until Not stated Not stated January 11, 2027
Skyborne Heroic Pack in-game rewards: mount, outfit, back item and decor
Heroic Pack rewards; the decor on the right side is housing decor for modern WoW · Image: Blizzard Entertainment
Source / rights
Image / usage information: (c) Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. Official World of Warcraft: Forever media from Blizzard announcement pages (downloaded 16 Sep 2026); shown with source link, no ownership asserted. · Image source ↗

Which items work in Forever and which in modern WoW?

The shop marks each item: some work in both modern WoW and Forever, others are Forever-only. The four Epic pets are Forever-only. The housing decor is for modern WoW and needs Midnight, which is sold separately.

None of the items carry over to WoW Classic. If you care whether a specific mount or outfit shows up on your retail characters too, check the markings on the shop page before you buy.

Which edition should you buy?

  • Heroic: enough if you want to roll Skyborne, see Zephras Isle and grab your name early. If beta doesn't matter to you, this is the sensible pick.
  • Epic: the one to get if you want to be in the beta that starts September 17. Epic and the Collection are the only digital editions with guaranteed access. The 30 days of Game Time from November 4 won't go to waste if you were going to keep subbing anyway.
  • Collection: $20 / €20 more than Epic. That buys you Warcraft III: Reforged, the Forsaken Kingdom campaign and two figurine decor pieces. Worth it if you don't own those and will actually play them; otherwise stick with Epic.
  • Collector's Edition: if you want something physical, the CE already includes a Warcraft Forever Collection code.

Upgrading later: what happens to your Invite-A-Friend codes

  • Heroic to Epic or the Collection adds 2 codes, for 3 total.
  • Epic to the Collection adds no codes.
  • A Collector's Edition bought from the Blizzard Gear Store adds 3 more, taking you up to 6.

FAQ

Can I play WoW Forever without buying an edition?
Yes. An active subscription or Game Time gets you in. Without an upgrade you miss Skyborne, Early Name Reservation and the cosmetics.
Can I ride the Cerulean Prideclaw right away?
You get the mount with Heroic, but you still have to buy the riding skill in game. Forever moves mount cost onto riding training, so set some gold aside while you level.
Will my beta character carry over if I buy Epic?
Blizzard hasn't said yet. The roadmap caps beta at level 30, and it ends in October, a couple of weeks before the November 4 launch.
How long is the Warcraft Forever Collection on sale?
It's a limited-time edition available until January 11, 2027. No end date has been given for Heroic or Epic.

Related guides